Telegram Chat Deleted For Both Sides (Deleting Telegram Messages)

Telegram provides a number of tools to improve user control and safeguard sensitive information.

However, unfortunately, Telegram has NO option to restrict others from deleting Telegram messages. But Telegram Delete Chat for both feature Does exist.

Therefore this task may require some proactive measures like taking screenshots of your messages and exporting or backing up your chats.

I am going to discuss these in detail in the following sections.

Tips to prevent others from deleting Telegram messages

Prevent others from deleting Telegram messages

Protecting the integrity of your Telegram messages is paramount for maintaining privacy and preserving valuable information.

Despite the lack of a built-in option to stop people from deleting messages in Telegram, there are proactive measures you may take to reduce the risk of unexpected deletions.

1. Screenshot your messages

If you don’t want to be caught off guard and lose your one-on-one chats, simply take a screenshot of your messages before they are deleted, this way you can refer to them when you need to.

Although, this might prove a bit tiresome if you have a lot of messages. If so, don’t worry, you can try the next tip!

2. Export your chats

You can protect your chats from being deleted by exporting them so that you have the chat history file somewhere on your device.

Note:
The export chat option is only available on the Telegram Desktop. No Android or iOS are supported.

To export your messages, go to your telegram desktop and open up the particular chat you want to export

Click on the 3 dots() menu and select the Export chat history option

In the popup window select which items to export then click the Export button.

Your file will be saved in your Telegram Desktop installation folder.

export chat history option

Additionally, you should regularly back up your Telegram chats to ensure you have a copy of your conversations. Telegram provides options to back up your chats locally on your device or in the cloud.

This way, even if messages are deleted, you can restore them from the backup.

With these measures, you can improve the possibility of keeping your Telegram messages from being deleted, ensuring that important information is preserved and easily accessible when needed.

Note:
Nevertheless, respecting other people’s right to secrecy and the option to erase their messages is essential.

how telegram chat deleted for both sides works

Telegram has this unique “Delete for Everyone” or “Also delete for (contact)” feature which allows users to delete Telegram messages that they have sent in a chat, and have it deleted from the chat history for all participants, and there’s absolutely no time limit to it.

The Telegram delete messages for both (everyone) can be useful if you have sent a message by mistake, or if you no longer want the message to be visible in the chat, then you can have your Telegram delete message for both sides.

To use this delete feature; open Telegram, go to your chats and select the particular chat(s) you want to get rid of. 

Long-press the chat, then from the upper right corner click on the delete icon, the delete message window will pop up and you can check the option to Also delete for [the name of the other person in the chat], then click the Delete button.

confirm the delete message prompt

And just like that, you can have your entire chat deleted for both sides (Telegram delete chat for both) and erase a particular message from your chat.

Tip:
Keep in mind that once the delete telegram feature is used to erase a chat or particular message, there is no way for a user to get it back (even the person who hit the delete button cannot undo it).

Also, anyone with whom you have ever spoken privately may decide to delete whatever you or they have said and proceed without your awareness or even your permission.

I’ll just mention that personally, I appreciate this feature. There have been moments when it has been a pain, but I really enjoy the thought that I am in charge and can entirely remove a chat at any time, as well as alter or rewrite the narrative in my chats!

Also read: 8 Tips To Fix Telegram Web Not Working

If I Delete Chat On Telegram Will They Know?

If you delete a secret chat on Telegram, the other party will not know if you delete a secret chat on your end.

Deleting a secret chat on Telegram only removes it from your device. The chat remains on the other person’s device unless they also decide to delete it

If you delete a message on Telegram, there is no notification sent to the other party.

However, anyone who was part of the conversation will be able to see that the message was deleted from their end of the conversation if they scroll back up in the chat window or look through their history log for that particular conversation thread.

FAQ

Q. Can someone else delete my Telegram message?

A. Yes, the Telegram delete chats for both lets the person you are chatting with delete your side of the conversation as well as theirs whenever they choose to, without your knowledge or consent.

Q. Can Telegram disable delete message for everyone feature?

A. Unfortunately no, you can not disable this feature. All you can do is take the necessary measures to save your chat thread before they are deleted.

Q. Can you recover a Telegram chat deleted for both sides?

A. Unfortunately no. Neither person in a chat can recover messages as long as they have been deleted.

Q. Does the “delete for everyone” feature work in Telegram groups?

A. Yes. but the only person who can delete the message for the whole group is the group admin. 

Therefore, if you send a message and change your mind about it and want to get rid of it, you will not be able to delete it unless you are the group admin.

Q. Does Telegram notify when you delete a message
from both sides/if I delete chat on Telegram will they know?

A. No, when you delete a Telegram message from both sides, there is no digital footprint of the deletion whatsoever. 

In fact, if the recipient had not seen the message yet, they will not even be able to tell that there was a message at all.

Q. Can I save all of my personal Telegram chats?

A. If you want to save some chats before being deleted, you can export your Telegram chats using your computer.
Download the Telegram Desktop app and sign into your account.
Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner(≡), then tap Settings.
Click on the Advanced option and Export Telegram Data. Follow the on-screen prompts and select which data to save or export.

In conclusion

The Telegram “delete for everyone” or “also delete for…” feature both gives and takes away control, depending on which side of the deletion you are on. 

Unfortunately, you can neither get your messages back nor stop the other person from deleting them. You may not even realize immediately that they were deleted. 

All you can do is take some precautions and save or back up your messages before they are deleted.

Also Read. . .

How To Delete A Facebook Group in 2024?

Facebook allows for group interactions through its Facebook groups feature.  Facebook groups are created for specific reasons and attract like-minded people.  At some point, however, you may need to get rid of the group for

Read More »
Newsletter Subscription (EF)
Picture of Grace
Grace
Grace is an Editor at GoTechUG and she has written many articles about website design and social media. She has experience in IT and loves to tinker with anything to do with computers. In her spare time, she loves music, movies, reading books, and learning Spanish.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search

Recommended Tools

Hostinger offers premium WordPress hosting for small and medium size websites at an affordable price rated 4.5/5 on Trustpilot

Elementor is the WordPress most popular page builder with over 10 million active users