How To Block An Account On TikTok in 2024

With millions of users sharing their lives and interacting on TikTok, it is crucial to maintain a secure and positive environment on the platform.

However, that’s not always the case. Sharing your day-to-day life with a ton of people may at one point or another attract unwanted attention.

TikTok gives you the option to block any problematic user’s account and maintain your peace and sanity.

Typically, to block a TikTok account all you need to do is access the profile of the account or user you want to block, then go to the arrow (➦) at the top right side and select Block (🚫).

This article will help you understand the grounds for blocking an account and then take you step-by-step through how to block a TikTok account.

Why block a TikTok account?

As I mentioned earlier, it’s not always a smooth and safe ride sharing your life with the whole world of TikTok.

In this section let’s look at some reasons why one may want to block someone on TikTok.

Personal preference; One may block an account because they simply do not wish to interact with a particular user. There’s no crime in that, it’s a free world after all!

Inappropriate content; If a certain account consistently posts inappropriate, offensive or explicit /adult content that you would rather not see in your feed, blocking them could be your go-to solution.

Unwanted attention and harassment; If you are being bullied by a particular user; maybe they keep sending you or posting hurtful messages or comments, or spamming your feed with unwanted content that makes you uncomfortable, you should block any trolls to keep out that negativity.

Privacy concerns; If after interacting with a certain user/account you feel like somehow your privacy may have been compromised in one way or another, then by all means, block away!

Additionally, you may have realised that a certain account is impersonating someone else to try to get to you, or even pretending to be you.

Blocking the imposter’s account can help protect your identity and privacy.

Social media conflicts; Since TikTok brings together people from different worlds, conflicts and disagreements are inevitable, and sometimes they may escalate to unhealthy levels. 

In situations where conflicts are causing you stress, blocking could give you a way to keep your online experience positive.

It may be one of the above or you may have a different reason for wanting to block a TikTok account.

Whatever it is, it’s entirely up to you to do what it takes to keep your online interactions safe and enjoyable, or for simple peace of mind.

And now, let’s dive into the steps of how to block someone on TikTok.

How to block an account on TikTok

Below are the steps for ‘how to block TikTok account(s)’:

Step 1: Launch your TikTok app on mobile and log in if you aren’t already.

Step 2: Navigate to the profile of the person you want to block.

Tip: You can find the profile of the user by searching for their username or finding their content in your feed and then clicking on their profile.

Go to TikTok user's profile
Tap arrow to block-TikTok user

Step 3: When their profile opens up, go to the arrow (➦) at the upper right corner, tap on it and from the options that pop up at the bottom menu, select the Block (🚫) option.

Step 4: Confirm; TikTok will then ask you to confirm the block action, and if you are sure, just tap Block.

Select Block to block TikTok user
Confirm TikTok user block

After completing these steps, that user’s account will be blocked and they won’t be able to follow you, comment on your videos, or interact with your content in any way.

Note that you as well will not see their content in your feed.

Tip: If, for some reason, you happen to change your mind at this point, you still have the option to unblock TikTok account(s) that you had blocked.

Unblock TikTok user

With the above steps, you can take control of your online interactions and in the process, keep your sanity.

However, if you are facing serious issues like abuse, harassment or even impersonation from a certain TikTok account, consider reporting the account before you block it. 

This will not only protect you but also alert the platform about the behavior of this user/account and maybe even protect someone else who may have fallen victim.

Check out this post if you would like to know how to report on TikTok.

Safety tips when using TikTok

To keep your TikTok engagement not only enjoyable but also safe, here are a few safety tips you can apply when using the platform:

  1. When sharing content, be cautious and think before you share.

    Consider the content you want to share and its alignment with your values and potential exposure.
  1. Make sure you are well informed about TikTok privacy settings and make use of them.

    For example, keep your account private and avoid sharing too many personal details with the general public.

Additionally, utilize TikTok’s comment filters, keyword moderation, and settings to manage your interactions.

  1. Be vigilant about your interactions on TikTok; try to connect only with people you know, and if for some reason you have to connect with strangers, be extra cautious.
  2. Never forget the reporting and blocking feature.

    Always use it to address unwanted behavior on the platform and protect yourself (and others).
  1. Lastly, do your very best to follow the TikTok community guidelines while using the platform.

    Above all, remember the golden rule; do unto others and you would have them do unto you.

FAQ

Can you block accounts on TikTok from seeing your account?

Yes, if you follow the above steps in this article you can block uses of your choice.

This will prevent them from viewing your videos or engaging with you through direct messages, comments, follows or likes.

What happens when someone blocks you on TikTok?

When someone blocks you on TikTok you won’t be able to see their content/videos, their bio or the people they follow or interact with on the platform.

You can’t follow them either, or even interact with them through comments or DMs.

How do you check who blocked you on TikTok?

There isn’t any direct way to know who blocked you on TikTok.

But there are some signs you can look out for to tell if a particular account has blocked you. 

For example, if you stop seeing their content, are unable to follow them, search for their name but can’t find it, or stop receiving notifications about their content, all these are indicators you may have been blocked.

Will the blocked user be notified that I’ve blocked them?

If you’re agonising about how to block someone on TikTok without them knowing ​and you’re wondering if the user will be notified, you are in luck.

The answer is no, TikTok does not notify users when you block them. They’ll simply not be able to find you on the platform.

Can I unblock an account later?

Yes, you can unblock an account if you change your mind. Just go to your settings or the blocked user’s profile to unblock them.

Conclusion

In summary, blocking a TikTok account can act as a shield against unwanted attention, uncomfortable situations and any content that does not align with your values, and TikTok leaves this in your hands.

Feel free to make use of this feature when you find yourself in situations like these, and remember to prioritize safety and positivity while you enjoy your experience on the TikTok platform.

Also Read. . .

Snapchat Device Ban: The Why And The How

Snapchat is one of the quickest and easiest social media platforms used to communicate through photos and videos. Because of its emphasis on security and safety, Snapchat may ban a user’s account due to violations,

Read More »
Newsletter Subscription (EF)
Grace
Grace
Grace is an Editor at GoTechUG and she has written many articles about website design and social media. She has experience in IT and loves to tinker with anything to do with computers. In her spare time, she loves music, movies, reading books, and learning Spanish.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search

Recommended Tools

Hostinger offers premium WordPress hosting for small and medium size websites at an affordable price rated 4.5/5 on Trustpilot

Elementor is the WordPress most popular page builder with over 10 million active users